Talks & Special Events

Tower Talks 2020

ALL TOWER TALKS CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

 
Please join us at St Michael’s Tower for the following Tower Talks.
Tickets for all talks cost £3.00 and are available at St Michael’s Tower and from Gloucester Tourist Information based at the Gloucester Museum, Brunswick Road.
Note: The programme may be subject to change due to circumstances beyond our control

 

Saturday 25th April at 11.30 am. Going upcountry: a story of barges and narrowboats. By Tony Conder.

Saturday 9th May at 11.30 am. The Jet Age Museum: share more interesting aviation history.

Saturday 13th June at 11.30 am. The last Abbott of St Peters: William Parker.  By Ian Holt.

Saturday 25th July at 11.30 am. Healing Springs: Holy Wells and Spas.  By Alan Pilbeam.

Saturday 26th September at 11.30 am. A Medieval trail through Gloucester.  By Rose McDowall

 

Special Events 2020

ALL EVENTS CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Saturday 28th March – All day. Residents’ Weekend. The Tower will be open. Free tours for Residents. Details  HERE

Saturday 11th April. 11.00 am – 2.00 pm  Easter Children’s Crafts. Try your hand at making an Easter bonnet and many other crafts to celebrate Easter.  FREE EVENT

Saturday 23rd May.  11.00 am onwards. Bank Holiday weekend children’s activities including  face painting (12  – 2 pm). Join us for some fun to  celebrate the anniversary of VE Day.  FREE EVENT

Thursday 18th June. 11.00 am – 12 noon. Armchair Tour of Gloucester. Join our volunteers for a virtual tour of Historic Gloucester whilst enjoying tea and cake. Cost £1 for the tea and cake.

Saturday 4th July – All day. Art in the City. Jack Russell, renowned local artist, returns to the Tower for this citywide celebration of art. 

Saturday 11th July. 11.00 am – 12 noon. Poetry at the Tower. Join the ever popular poetry cafe; bring along your own poems or share your favourites. Please let us know if you are coming and we will have refreshments ready. FREE EVENT

Thursday 16th July. 11.00 am. – 12 noon. Armchair Tour of Gloucester. The second of our virtual tours of Gloucester. Join our volunteers for a virtual tour of Historic Gloucester whilst enjoying tea and cake. Cost £1 for the tea and cake.

Saturday 15th August. 11.00 am. Join us to explore the history of the child King Henry III crowned here in Gloucester in 1216. Lots of fun activities for children. FREE EVENT

Thursday 20th August. 11.00 am – 12 noon. Armchair Tour of Gloucester. This year’s final virtual tour. Join our volunteers for a virtual tour of Historic Gloucester whilst enjoying tea and cake. Cost £1 for the tea and cake.

Saturday 29th August. all day. Retro day in Gloucester. Join the Tower for the annual Retro experience.

Saturday 5th September. All day. Gloucester Day. Call in and find out why Gloucester celebrates this day.

 

 

For the full Civic Trust programme of events, please see the Calendar of Events  HERE